Skip to Content

The Tidelands Health Newsroom

Published on October 01, 2008

Downing, Jones Named Chiefs of Staff at Georgetown Hospital System

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Georgetown, SC Dr. Craig Downing and Dr. Webster Jones have been named the Chiefs of Staff at Georgetown Memorial Hospital and Waccamaw Community Hospital, respectively, for fiscal year 2009.

Dr. Joseph Gammel will serve as GMH’s vice-chief of staff with Dr. Walter Frank as Secretary/Treasurer. Dr. Hossan Hassan has been named GMH Chief of Family Medicine while Dr. Kent McGinley is GMH Chief of Hospital-Based Department. Cardiologist Dr. John Ijem will serve as GMH Chief of Medicine.

Dr. David Thomas has been named Vice-Chief of Staff at WCH while Dr. Victor Archambeau will serve as WCH Secretary/Treasurer. Dr. Scott Brumfield has been named Chief of Family Medicine while Dr. Eugene Mayeaux is serving as WCH’s Chief of Hospital-Based Department. Dr. James Principe has been tabbed as WCH Chief of Medicine with Dr. Eric Heimberger serving as WCH Chief of Surgery.


Tidelands Health is the region’s largest health care provider and MUSC Health affiliate, serving the Carolinas at four hospitals and more than 60 outpatient locations. More than 2,500 employee, physician and volunteer partners work side by side with our communities to transform the health of our region – promoting wellness, preventing illness, encouraging recovery and restoring health.